Southwest Chicken Tacos


 

Ok for real, these are awesome! And just as quick to pull together as any taco spread! These are delicious as leftovers too…thats my kind of meal because I don’t know if Ive told you this or not, but I have a problem, a serious one…I hate leftovers. Seriously, I very rarely eat them, only if Drew warms it up for me and I truly do not feel like cooking, which almost never happens, which means I almost never eat leftovers. Which is whyyyy, if you haven’t noticed already, most of my portion sizes are for two people so that I’m not stuck eating them the next day. I know its silly and rediculous, and probably doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, but I cant help it..I think its a mindset thing, I should probably work on getting over it..hmm maybe a New Years Resolution? I’ll have to think about that one…

Anywho! These Tacos, can be thrown together in a pinch without any shortage on flavor! They’re sooo good! (I even ate them as leftovers…) if you’re making them for kids, you don’t even need to tell them that they’re kind of good for you, with the black beans, the brown rice, the chicken and red bell pepper, these tacos are superb! (That kind of makes me sound like my third grade teacher..she used to say “superb” all the time! ha!) Getting sidetracked..

Definitely go make these, and if you have a Sol or Corona lying around your fridge, because your’re strange like me, and drink “summer beers” in December, then you should totally add it to your meal..whats a little mexican food without any Cervezas?!?

Southwest Chicken Tacos

Adapted from: melskitchencafe

Makes about 6 tacos

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 1 cup Chicken Broth
  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into small strips
  • 1 Tbsp. Olive oil
  • 2 ½ tsp Creole seasoning, divided
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced into strips
  • 2 Tbsp. minced garlic (4-5 cloves)
  • 3-4 green onions, finely cut (white and green parts)
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • ¼ cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • ½ tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • ½ teaspoon garlic salt
  • 2 cupsMontereyjack cheese, freshly shredded
  • 6 small flour tortillas
  • Sour Cream (Optional)
  • Tomatoes, diced (Optional)

 Directions:

  1. Bring the chicken broth to a boil, add the rice. Follow rice package instructions.
  2. Rinse and cut your chicken broth into small strips. Heat up olive oil in a skillet. Add chicken and 1 ½ tsp of the Creole seasoning.
  3. While the chicken is cooking chop up your red pepper, green onion, garlic, and fresh cilantro. Shred the cheese and rinse your black beans.
  4. When your chicken is done, remove it from the pan. Use the same skillet and add the sliced red pepper and minced garlic along with the remaining Creole seasoning. Cook for 5-6 minutes, until the peppers are mostly soft, but not soggy.
  5. When the rice is done, add the lime juice, green onion, black beans, cilantro, chili powder, ground cumin, garlic powder, and salt. Stir it all up and set aside.
  6. Remove the red pepper and garlic from the pan, and turn the heat to low.
  7. To assemble the wraps: using the same skillet, toss on a flour tortilla, make a line of cheese down the middle, top with sliced chicken, red pepper slices, and rice mixture. Allow to cook for 1-2 minutes until cheese is melted. Serve and Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

