Zucchini Bread



Goodness its been a week already! I never meant for it to be so long between posts, but boy what a busy week its been. We’re in the process of painting a few rooms in our house, finding curtains, (which if you’ve had to do before, you know is a daunting task!) I finally found and bought a new comforter that I love, I’ve been looking since we moved back here in January..I got a fabulous new grill pan this week, which I’m super excited to use, we received & built our sons crib, so he’s sleeping in his own room now, (which makes ours feel empty!) and along with all this re-decorating, I’ve started to build a cookbook with all my favorite recipes, and those that are in limbo until we try them. We’ve had some really delicious dinners this week, I can’t wait to share them with you! But today we’re going to be making Zucchini Bread.. I never thought it could be so delicious, but with the fall flavor kicks to it, mmmyumm! You won’t be disappointed! I made this zucchini bread, because I had sooooo much zucchini! My boyfriend’s parents had the largest garden I have ever seen, and gave us the largest zucchini I have ever seen…seriously, it was longer than our 3 1/2 month old son! haha it was massive! So I cut it up and made some bread, which is so delicious, especially heated up for breakfast with a little bit of butter, yummm!

All cut up, there were four stacks of the zucchini, and trust me, they were not the size of a tennis ball, more like the size of my head! haha The sucker was massive!

Anyways so I took one circle and grated it, which gave me about three cups of zucchini…so pretty, isn’t it?! 🙂

Start by beating together three eggs until light and frothy.

Mix in a half of cup of applesauce, a half of cup of oil, one cup of white sugar and brown sugar.

Stir in the grated zucchini and two teaspoons of vanilla extract.

Add three cups of flour, I used wheat flour, but all-purpose would work perfectly fine, three teaspoons of cinnamon and three teaspoons of nutmeg, 1/2 a teaspoon of baking powder and one teaspoon of baking soda, one teaspoon of salt, and squeeze in a tablespoon of lemon juice, or one whole lemon. I’m not a huge fan of nuts, so I didn’t add any, but if you like them, half a cup of walnuts are great in this recipe!

Once everything is mixed together, pour into a greased pan. I used a bundt pan, but a regular bread pan works fine, you may need to split the batter into two pans if its too much for just one.

Now it time for my favorite part, the crumb topping!! You can do this by hand, but its faster, easier, and gives the perfect consistency if you mix it all together in a food processor.

In the food processor, (or a bowl if you’re doing this by hand), combine 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of AP flour, 2 tablespoons of butter or margarine, two teaspoons of cinnamon and a 1/2 a cup of chopped walnuts if you’d like.

Pulse until it turns into a crumble. Sprinkle all over the top of the batter.

Bake at 325 F for 50-60 minutes, until a knife down the middle comes out clean!

Hot & Steaming from the oven, it smelled AMAZING!

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil or ( ½ c. oil & ½ c. apple sauce)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 cups grated zucchini
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour (wheat flour)
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 teaspoons nutmeg
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Crumb Topping

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F Grease and flour two 8×4 inch loaf pans, or a bundt pan
  2. In a large bowl, beat eggs until light and frothy. Mix in oil and sugar. Stir in zucchini and vanilla. Combine flour, cinnamon, soda, baking powder, salt, lemon juice and nuts; stir into the egg mixture. Pour batter into pan(s).
  3. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, until a knife or toothpick comes out clean.

 

This zucchini bread is really delicious! Its moist and so flavorful! The smell throughout your house will be intoxicating! It was the perfect fall smell with the cinnamon and nutmeg, mmm! I hope you enjoy this! We definitely did!

Happy First day of Autumn! xo

Leave a Reply

