Cinnamon Rolls & other Fall Favorites!


Goodness I have been MIA for far to long! We’ve been so busy, its that time of year I suppose, and with the holidays approaching rapidly I’m sure its only going to get worse! However, also with this time of year comes lots & lots of cooking and baking, which I have been doing TONS of! Don’t worry I’ll share with you the delicious recipes we’ve been trying out-SO GOOD! I love Fall, something about the cool crisp air screams BAKE! We’re looking forward to going to do a corn maze in the next couple of weeks, I’ve never done one! I love carving out pumpkins, that’s right around the corner too! I can’t wait until my son is a bit older and can join me in all of the festivities leading up to the holidays! It is by far, my favorite time of year! I love getting all dressed up for holiday parties and I am beyond thrilled to put my little man in a mini suit himself this year! Ooh I get excited just thinking about it!

As I’m sitting here writing this, enjoying my coffee, my fabulous boyfriend is cooking me an amazing breakfast of freshly, homemade cinnamon rolls, I can smell them in the oven now, nothing better than the smell of cinnamon throughout your house first thing in the morning on a cool Fall day, and delicious looking mini frittatas! Yum! Usually he saves Sunday mornings for making his notorious and delicious omelets, but I got a wonderful surprise when I woke up this morning, to an incredible breakfast! Oooh I love him for this! (And so much more!) They’re filled with eggs, spicy sausage, freshly grated Parmesan cheese, fresh chopped up parsley, some salt & pepper, and a little milk! Mix together & pour into cupcake pans, perfect size and so cute! And LOOK at these delicious cinnamon rolls he made! A little bit of chopped up almonds in the mix add a delicious crunch!

Cinnamon Rolls

You know what I love about this roll recipe? It doesn’t require yeast, which means it doesn’t need to rise, which means I can make them and eat them quicker!

Ingredients

Rolls:

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, plus extra for the counter
  • 2 Tablespoons white granulated sugar
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 6 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Cinnamon Filling:

  • 3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white granulated sugar
  • 3 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup chopped almonds

Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp milk

**To make frosting, mix all ingredients until smooth. (adjust amounts to flavor preference)

Directions:

  1.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Generously coat a 9 inch round cake pan and a wire cooling rack with vegetable oil spray.
  2.  Make the filling: combine together the brown sugar, 1/4 cup granulated white sugar, cinnamon, salt, and the 1 Tablespoon melted butter until the mixture resembles wet sand.
  3.  Make the dough: In a large bowl, whisk together the flour; 2 Tablespoons white granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  4.  In a separate bowl, whisk the buttermilk and 2 Tablespoons of the melted butter together.
  5.  Stir the buttermilk mixture into the flour mixture with a wooden spoon until absorbed, about 30 seconds. The dough will look shaggy.
  6.  Turn the dough out onto a generously floured counter and knead until smooth, about 1 minute.
  7.  Press the dough out into a 9 by 12 inch rectangle using your hands.
  8.  Brush the dough with 2 Tablespoons melted butter. Sprinkle the dough evenly with the filling, leaving a 1/2-inch border. Press the filling firmly into the dough.
  9.  Loosen the dough from the counter using a bench scraper or a metal spatula.
  10.  Starting at a long side, roll the dough, pressing lightly, to form a tight log.
  11.  Pinch the seam to seal. Slice the dough into 8 even pieces.
  12.  Place the slices in the greased pan.
  13.  Brush with the remaining 2 Tablespoons melted butter. Bake until the edges are golden brown, 20-25 minutes.
  14.  Use a knife to loosen the buns from the pan. Flip the buns out onto the prepared wire rack, then turn buns upright and let cool for 10 minutes before frosting with cream cheese icing. Prepare the icing while rolls are cooling.

They’re soooo good! Soft & gooey with the perfect crunch from the almonds! Yummo!

 


So back to what I’ve been cooking up! I don’t have tons of pictures. My camera isn’t all that great, especially with the lighting in my kitchen, but I’ll describe to you as best I can these amazing dishes, and you’ll just have to use your imagination! On Sunday, yes Football Sunday, instead of cooking here, we went down to my boyfriends brothers house for the game (Patriots won! Woohoo!)…ALWAYS a treat, he’s like a world class chef, he can turn the most simplest of meals into the greatest combination of flavors, I don’t even think I can call them simple, but absolutely superb! Anyways, we brought with us The Best Cookies Ever! and the yummiest cupcakes-perfect for fall! The cookies were a hit, per usual! (They really are the best!) And these cupcakes; Caramel Apple Cupcakes with Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting, seriously dangerous! They are so moist, and the cinnamon & apples add the perfect amount of “Fall Flavor!” I have trouble stopping at one, and I’ve convinced myself that the whole apple chunks make it, “not so bad for me” haha I’m in denial, but they’re simple to make with a mouthwatering outcome! They were on Cupcake Wars, so you’d think it would be a complicated recipe, just the opposite though, you must try them! I’ve linked the recipe above & I’ll post it below!

Caramel Apple Cupcakes with Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 apples, cored, peeled, and chopped
  • Caramel syrup, for garnish

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 regular size cupcake pans with cupcake liners.

2. In a large bowl using an electric mixer on low speed, combine the sugar, eggs, butter, and vanilla extractuntil blended. In a separate large bowl, combine the flour,cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, mixing on low until blended. Stir in the apples.

3. Fill the cupcake liners three-quarters full with batter and bake until the cupcakes spring back when touched with your finger, 15 to 20 minutes. Let cool in the pans for a few minutes, and then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

4. Either pipe Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting onto the cupcakes using a pastry bagand your favorite tip, or spread each cupcake with the frosting. Drizzle each cupcake with caramel syrup.

(You’ll notice in my picture, I didn’t drizzle with caramel syrup, I didn’t have it on hand, so I just sprinkled with some cinnamon!)

Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting:

(This frosting recipe is the amount the food network provided. I’ve made these cupcakes numerous times and this is way to much. I cut the frosting recipe in half and I still have leftovers. Just a tip!)

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 (8-ounce) bar cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste (I used vanilla extract since it is what I had!)
  • 4 cups powdered sugar (about 2 pounds)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

In a large bowl using an electric mixer on low speed, beat the butter, cream cheese, and vanilla bean paste until smooth and thoroughly blended. Slowly add the powdered sugarand salt. Mix until smooth.

Can you see the yummy apple chunks? And the beautiful cinnamon specks all throughout these fabulous cupcakes? All of these sugary sweets are very delicious, and all so addicting! Try them and let me know what you think! I’ll be sure to post about the amazing dinners we have had in the last couple of weeks, so many great ones! Let me know what you think of these fabulous Fall Favorites!  Happy October!

One thought on “Cinnamon Rolls & other Fall Favorites!

Leave a Reply

