Cheese Tortellini & Sausage Soup


Last night I made the most delicious soup! When you google this, you come up with so many recipes, they all have about the same ingredients, give or take, but a lot of them call for fresh herbs, which I realize most people don’t always have on hand, so I made one with dried seasonings, and it came out absolutely superb! My boyfriend went back for a third bowl, and throughout the rest of the night, I caught him scooping a spoonful out of the pot! He told me “It’s the best soup I have ever had” and I know he meant it, because he said it over and over again, made me feel pretty good! 🙂 When he got home this afternoon, he made a beeline for the fridge, (I’m not exaggerating) and warmed up a giant bowl saying “I have been waiting for this soup all day!” So if that says anything, you want to try it! It’s delicious! I’m usually  not a soup person, I don’t like anything soggy, and soup resembles that to me, BUT this was perfect. It simmered long enough that the vegetables were soft but still with a little crisp to them, and it was so flavorful! So without further ado I give you the yummiest Cheese Tortellini & Sausage Soup you will find!

Here is everything you will need! You see the Fresh Parsley, but I ended up not using it, if you have it on hand, absolutely go for it and add it in the end, but I hadn’t used any other fresh herbs, so I figured Id save it for another dish! 🙂 You’ll need Spicy Sausage, if you don’t like spicy, then use whatever kind you would like, but it really does give the soup a little kick, half of a large red onion, three garlic cloves, 3 cans of beef broth, one 28oz cans of diced tomatoes, carrots, and 8oz can of tomato sauce, either zucchini or green beans (I had zucchini on hand, so that’s what I used), and a bag of frozen tortellini pasta!

First you’ll want to take your sausage and remove them from the casing. The easiest way to do this, (if you don’t already know) is to lay them flat and cut horizontally across, about halfway down the sausage, then flip it inside out and the meat will just fall off, quick and simple! Next, Cut them up, I used four spicy italian sausage, and put them in a skillet to cook on medium-high.

While your sausage are cooking, chop up half of a large red onion and mince your three cloves of garlic. Add them to the pot you’ll be cooking your soup in with a little olive oil, and let them saute-about 5 or 6 minutes.

While your garlic and onions are sauteing, chop up your carrots, I used three, which was roughly about two cups, but you can add as many or as little vegetables as you want, depending how much you like! Chop up your zucchini, and open all of your beef broth, diced tomatoes, and tomato sauce cans.

Add to the sautéed garlic and onions; the cooked sausage, 6 cups of beef broth, which is exactly three 14.5 oz cans, one 28oz can of diced tomatoes, one 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and the chopped carrots and zucchini. Stir up all your ingredients and season with one Tablespoon of dried basil and 1 Tbsp of Italian Seasoning. ( You can always add whatever seasons that cater to your preference, but this is what I added, and it was delish!) Bring this to a boil. Reduce your heat and let is simmer, covered, for 45 minutes!

The above picture is dark and hard to tell, but that’s just about everything mixed in and simmering! It gave off the most mouth-watering aroma throughout our house! We were so ready to eat by the time it was done!

About ten minutes before you’re ready to serve it, is when you are going to add your bag of cheese tortellini (14oz). When you’ve tasted it, and everything is cooked to your preference, serve it with a little freshly grated Parmesan cheese..Oh em gee…you’ll be going back for more and more!

Okay, so maybe I added a lot more than “a little Parmesan” but what can I say, I’m a cheese fanatic, it melted all in and was so ooey gooey delicious! If you have any bread on hand, definitely serve it with that! Never have I ever dipped bread into soup, (remember I hate anything soggy) but we had Asiago Foccacia, and dipped into a little broth, sooo heavenly! I would not steer you wrong!

You must try this soup! It was absolutely perfect on a cool rainy night, and it is that time of year! I am getting sooo excited for the holidays, its my favorite time of year, (minus the snow) although I don’t think I could imagine Christmas without it, buuut that’s another story! So get cooking and as always, let me know what you think!

Cheese Tortellini & Sausage Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb Spicy Italian Sausage
  • 1/2 of a large red onion
  • 3 cloves of minced garlic
  • 6 cups beef broth (3 14.5oz cans)
  • 1 28oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 8oz can tomato sauce
  • 2 cups chopped carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups zucchini or green beans
  • 1 Tbsp. dried basil
  • 1 tbsp. Italian Seasoning
  • 14 oz bag cheese tortellini
  • Parmesan for topping (optional)

Directions:

  1. Remove sausage from the casing and brown them in a skillet. While those are browning, chop up your onion and garlic, saute them in a pot with a tbsp of olive oil for about 5-6 minutes. In the meantime chop up your carrots and zucchini and open up your cans of beef broth, diced tomato’s and tomato sauce.
  2. Stir into your sautéed onions and garlic the beef broth, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, carrots, zucchini, basil, Italian seasoning, and sausage. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover and allow it to simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.
  3. About ten minutes before you’re ready to serve the soup, add the bag of cheese tortellini. Stir together. Serve and top with freshly grated Parmesan and delicious bread if you have it on hand! Asiago Foccacia or Garlic Bread are both perfect choices!

 

2 thoughts on “Cheese Tortellini & Sausage Soup

Leave a Reply

