Cheesy Chicken Poblano


I’ve been slacking, I know! It’s a crazy-busy time of year! This weekend we carved pumpkins and visited my parents on Saturday, Sunday we went down to Kennebunk and went out to lunch with my boyfriends brother and his girlfriend, then relaxed and watched that PAtriots (sadly) loose to the Steelers. It was a busy weekend. Then yesterday was HALLOWEEN! I wish I could say we dressed up our 5 month old and took him trick-r-treating, but alas, we did not. However, Halloween is our anniversary so for the first time since our little guy was born, we dropped him off at my parents to babysit him while we went out for some drinks and a little bit of pool. It was so strange at first when we got in the car to head out to the Old Port, we hadn’t been in the car alone since the day we drove to the hospital, but It was a fabulously fun night, that the two of us really needed together and we thoroughly enjoyed it. So that’s where I’ve been, back to blogging!

My mornings go something like this…listen to my little man wake up and talk and coo for about 20 minutes, go grab him out of his crib and feed him, bring him into bed with us and play and talk and sing until he’s ready to move on and go downstairs. While he’s going like a wild man in his jumparoo, I am staring as the coffee slowly trickles into the pot, waiting for a cup. Once that is finally in my system, I start checking my daily blogs, email, facebook, you know-the works. My morning lineup consists of the Today Show, Kathie Lee & Hoda, then Rachael Ray. I loooove her. And her food is spectacular. I adapted this dish from her, and its delish! I first had Poblano Peppers at this little Authentic Mexican Restaurant here in Maine called Cancun. Their food was absolutely to die for, I’m not exaggerating, it was real mexican and real good! So when I saw Rachael making this dish, I had to try it, because I remember loving the cheesy poblano peppers! They are like a milder version of a chile pepper with a distinct flavor, but truly appetizing! You MUST try it! I served ours up with some delish Cilantro Lime Rice and Lemon Garlic Brussel Sprouts. (Yes, I am still on a brussels sprout kick, I can’t help it! And now that I found them fresh on the stalk from Trader Joes, you will probably continue to see Brussels Sprouts..I hope you like them!!)(Look how fab these little buggers are! Yum!!)

The Lemon Garlic Brussels Sprouts and Cilantro Lime Rice, are the perfect complement to the Poblano Sauce smothering the cheesy chicken. You really can’t go wrong here! It has a fabulous Mexican Flare that is really refreshing. So, listen to Rachael and I and TRY THIS! It’s really easy and really good!

Cheesy Chicken Poblano

Adapted From: Rachael Ray

Yield: 3 Servings Prep Time: 15 minutes Cook Time: 45 minutes Total Time: 1 hour

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium Poblano Peppers, seeded and stemmed, chopped
  • 1 cup Chicken Broth
  • 1/2 small onion, quartered
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 Teaspoon Cayenne
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Cumin
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2 Tablespoons Flour
  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 1/2 cup Heavy Cream
  • 3 boneless chicken breasts
  • 2-3 cups cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, combine your chopped poblano peppers, chicken broth, onion, garlic cloves, cilantro, salt, pepper, cayenne and cumin. Pulse until it is puree.
  2. In a sauce pot over medium heat, melt 3 tablespoons of butter. Whisk in the flour until smooth, add the milk and cream. Whisk slowly for a few minutes until the mixture warms up, then turn up the heat to medium-high.
  3. Add the poblano puree and bring to a low boil, then turn the heat down and allow to simmer until the sauce thickens, about 20-25 minutes.
  4. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
  5. In a skillet, heat up about a tablespoon of olive oil.
  6. Season chicken breast with salt and pepper, and brown each side of the chicken, about 3-4 minutes each.
  7. Transfer Chicken to a casserole dish. Pour thickened poblano sauce over the chicken.
  8. Cover with cheese. (Add as much as you’d like!)
  9. Bake until golden brown and bubbly, about 15-20 minutes!

Serve with some delicious Cilantro-Lime Rice and Lemon Garlic Brussels Sprouts!

Leave a Reply

