Cajun Chicken


I’m getting so excited, I’m almost done all my Christmas shopping and I’ve been wrapping like a mad woman, one of my favorite parts! For the most part all I have left to do is make all my cookies the week before Christmas! (I’m still open to suggestions in that area!) I can’t believe though it’s already less than three weeks until Christmas…when I was little it felt like a lifetime between Thanksgiving and Xmas, now it literally feels like a week..times flies way to fast!

This Cajun chicken will definitely warm you up on a cool night! It’s so darn delicious! I served mine up with brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes, but I highly recommend after baking it, to cut it into strips and serve it over pasta with a creamy-cheesy sauce, because that is definitely how I’ll do it next time! That’s how I would have done it if I hadn’t run out of pasta the night before! But thinking about it over a warm cheesy pasta, makes me want to make it again already! The chicken itself was delicious! Crunchy, a bit of a spicy kick, but so flavorful!

So do it up! And definitely make a yummy cheese sauce for the pasta! I can’t wait to do it, and I know you’ll be glad you did! Enjoy!!

Cajun Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Buttermilk
  • 2 large chicken breasts, cut in half
  • 1 1/4 cup Panko
  • 3 Tbsp. Creole Seasoning (Recipe below)

Directions:

  1. Rinse and trim your chicken. Cut the breasts in a half so that there are four pieces of chicken.
  2. Soak in the buttermilk for at least an hour.
  3. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Spread your creole seasoning out over a plate, and do the same with the panko on a separate plate.
  5. Line a baking dish with tin foil.
  6. Create an assembly line, pull the chicken from the buttermilk, dip in the creole on both sides, then into the panko until well covered, then place in the tin foil lined baking dish.
  7. Bake in the oven at 350 for 25-35 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through.

For the Creole Seasoning:

  • 2 Tbsp. Paprika
  • 2 Tbsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. garlic powder
  • 1 Tbsp. black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp. Onion Powder
  • 1 Tbsp. Cayenne Pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. Italian Seasoning

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

