Mexican Lasagna


 

Goodness, where on earth has the time gone!? ONLY 9 days until Christmas!? I think I took on too much this year, and in the process have been neglecting my dear blog. 😦 I don’t like that, and I apologize. Unfortunately, I still have TONS to do before next Friday, because I have to work Fri & Sat nights, resulting in ALL my Christmas to-dos needing to be done by Friday..phew its going to be a long week. However, we still have to eat, right? I’ll try harder, promise.

Yes, I am still giving you Mexican food in the dead of the holiday season, because like I’ve said time and time again I LOVE IT, ITS MY FAVORITE. That is no lie, and this lasagna is no joke..its absolutely delish! I started making this before I even knew how to cook, seriously, and I’ve only improved it since then! We love it, and you will too. Trust me on this one, its worth eating this winter, and spring, summmer…you get the idea. Its awesome, easy to whip up and perfect if you have company coming over and don’t want to make a picky meal, because this serves a lot and is soo easy.

Forewarning, this is a tad bit spicy! So if you aren’t into the spice, cut back a little on the cayenne pepper. But if you like spice, keep it the way it is, because it’s so yummy!! I hope you all are enjoying the holiday season and parties as much as we are!! Now get to cooking! 😉

 

Mexican Lasagna

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 large chicken breasts, rinsed and chopped
  • 1 1/2 yellow peppers, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 15 oz can tomato sauce + rinse can with 1/4 cup water, add
  • 8 oz jar medium salsa
  • 1 15oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • salt, pepper & garlic powder to taste
  • 4 cups cheddar cheese, freshly grated
  • 15oz part skim ricotta
  • 6-8 wheat tortillas (depends how many layers you do)

Directions:

  1. Cook chicken in a large skillet on medium-high heat, add a dash of salt, pepper, and garlic powder
  2. Cook for 5-7 minutes, turn heat to medium low
  3. Add yellow peppers, garlic, onion, black beans, tomato sauce, and salsa.
  4. Season with cayenne, cumin, and chili powder
  5. Turn heat to low, allow to simmer for 10-15 minutes while you’re oven is heating and you’re grating your cheese)
  6. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  7. Assemble: Line the bottom of a large pan with two tortillas, next do a layer of the chicken mix, dollop across it with ricotta, sprinkle with the cheddar cheese. Repeat the process doing 2-3 layers ending with the cheddar cheese.

Pop in the oven for 20 minutes!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

